Follow Main Street Monroe: Facebook  Twitter

Sunday, May 6, 2007 8:38:38 PM - Monroe Ohio

Each year the Monroe Area Community Foundation gives the Cornerstone Award to a person who displays an unselfish use of time or money—for no personal gain—for the betterment of the Monroe community.  The winner is selected by the Cornerstone Award committee, who reviews all the nominations submitted from the citizens of Monroe.  This year’s award recognizing service to the community was presented to Gloria Miltenberger by Ron Tubbs at its tenth annual meeting.  Gloria was instrumental in starting the foundation upon her husband’s death in 1996, when she and her family requested that memorial gifts in Richard’s name be used to establish a foundation in Monroe.  Prior to his death, Richard was a Monroe councilman for 22 years and supported various community projects, including the concept of a foundation. Since then, Gloria has served as the Executive Director of the MACF and has been largely responsible for its continued progress.   She has worked tirelessly to serve the MACF in memory of her late husband, Richard, and daughter, Lee Ann.  A 1979 graduate of Monroe High School, Lee Ann unexpectedly passed away in 2005.  Under the MACF direction, The Richard L. Miltenberger Memorial Scholarship and The Lee Ann Miltenberger Memorial Scholarship Funds were established in order to give yearly scholarships to qualifying Monroe High School seniors. Gloria received an award plaque and a commemorative name plate to be added to the Cornerstone Award plaque displayed in the James Monroe Community Room. 


Previous winners of this award are: 


        2000              George and Alice Frazee

        2001              Ida Mae Woodward

        2002               Monroe Lions Club

        2003              Dr. James M. and Bertha Anderson 

        2004              Joyce Tannreuther

        2005              A. Seth Johnston

        2006              Elbert R. Tannreuther

          2007                 Gloria A. Miltenberger


To learn more about starting an MACF Fund to honor or recognize the achievement of an individual or group, call any of the following people:


Gloria Miltenberger, 513-539-7672

Larry McCartt, 513-539-7406

Ron Tubbs, 513-320-3674


The Voice | Weather | Advertisers | Advertising Information | Lending Library | Monroe Church Directory

Archived Monroe News From: 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012

Website Design © Xponex Web and Media Services | Contact | Terms of Use | Copyright ©2020