Follow Main Street Monroe: Facebook  Twitter

Lyn Bliss Elected VP of SW Ohio Fed of Republican Women
Monday, October 26, 2009 10:07:28 AM - Monroe Ohio
Lyn BlissSource: Ohio Federation of Republican Women

The Ohio Federation of Republican Women recently held its Fall Conference, at which the officers for 2010 and 2011 were elected. Lyn Bliss (photo), a member of the Darke County Republican Women’s Club, was elected Vice President of the Southwest District. Included in that district are the Republican Women’s Clubs in Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Greene, Hamilton, Logan, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Shelby, Warren and Darke counties.

Other officers elected for the same term are President Jean Turner of Gibsonburg, Vice President Carol Salmon of Canfield, Treasurer Karen McTague of Oak Harbor, and Secretary Pet Rettig of Clyde.  The six district Vice Presidents, in addition to Bliss, are: Kathy Wise of Newark for Central District, Jewette Toney of Wintersville for East District, Donna Thatcher of Freemont for Northwest  District, Edwina Wolcott of Warren for Northeast District, and Shawn Priest of  Leesburg for  South District.

Her participation in the Darke County Republican Women’s Club has included being corresponding secretary, recording secretary, card party committee member, nominating committee member, picnic committee member, publicity chairlady, membership book editor, and representative to the OFRW and representative to the National Federation of Republican Women. She is a member of the Ohio Republican Party and the Republican National Committee.

The OFRW makes it possible for conservative women to join thousands of Republican woman leaders and activists, enjoy networking opportunities and the ability to meet and develop relationships with women from across Ohio. OFRW strives to empower more Republican women in the political process and increase the number of women in the party and in public office.
Bliss has served as county campaign chair for numerous Republican candidates on the federal, state, county and local levels.  She has also served as a member of the campaign committees for a great number of Republican candidates at all governmental levels.

Bliss is a League of Women Voters Board of Directors member, Junior Vice President of VFW Auxiliary 7262, Board Member and Secretary of the Darke County Metropolitan Housing Authority and webmaster for the Darke County Republican Party.  She is a member of Eagle’s Auxiliary, Women of the Moose, Beta Sigma Phi Sorority, Greenville Area Women’s Connection, Core Committee for the Greenville Schools Levy, Darke County Historical Society (Garst Museum), Friends of the Greenville Library, Committee to Restore the Greenville Mausoleum, Citizens Against Carbon Sequestration, Senior Advocate Scholarship Fund, Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority Alumni, University of Iowa Alumni, University of Maryland Alumni, Wright Patterson Club and the Dayton Art Institute. She has served on the Edison Community College Board of Trustees, the Darke County Republican Central and Executive Committees, Board of Directors for the Cancer Association of Darke County and was previously Political Education Chair for the OFRW.

Bliss is a retired teacher who earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Maryland and a Master of Arts degree from the University of Iowa.  She is married to Al Bliss. The couple resides in Greenville.

The Voice | Weather | Advertisers | Advertising Information | Lending Library | Monroe Church Directory

Archived Monroe News From: 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012

Website Design © Xponex Web and Media Services | Contact | Terms of Use | Copyright ©2020